ujustfinish

You don't need to finish strong. You just need to finish.

Can We Inspire Someone?

Leave a comment

Image

Sitting on top of the Scotts Bluff National Memorial in Nebraska. The run from Gering to the top is a blast.

Randy after our International Marathon.

Randy after our International Marathon from Buffalo to Niagara Falls.

Breakfast after a nice run on the Atlantic City Boardwalk.

Breakfast after a nice run on the Atlantic City Boardwalk.

Donetta at the beautiful finish line after our International Marathon

Donetta at the beautiful finish line after our International Marathon from Buffalo to Niagara Falls.

Donetta and me on Baker Beach.  Ran the trail around Fort Point all the way from Fisherman's Wharf.

Donetta and me on Baker Beach. Ran the trail around Fort Point all the way from Fisherman’s Wharf.

Med-city half-marathon. Rochester, MN

Med-city half-marathon. Rochester, MN

Just a quick introduction.  We are Randy and Donetta Kirkman from Kansas City, MO.  We love to travel and run.  I’m not talking about a quick jog around the hotel to start the day.  I’m talking really running.  We actually run to site see.  Our philosophy, “the more we run, the more we see.”

Age wise, we are in our mid 50’s. Currently we average between 25-30 miles a week with cross-fit thrown in twice a week. Donetta has completed two marathons, I have completed one, and we have run several half-marathons. We love running together.

I run because I am a Type II Diabetic and am controlling it with diet and exercise.  That’s not the only reason however.  I love running.  That hasn’t always been the case but when I found out I had Diabeties, Donetta insisted we control it with diet and exercise. That’s when I started serious running.  Donetta runs because she has always loved running, and because she wants to support me.  She is also extremely competitive and has won several races in her age division.

I’m not sure how different we are from other people our age in terms of our exercise program and how we eat, but if we can inspire anyone to exercise and eat more healthy that would be a pretty nice reward.  I think we both use it as motivation when we hear someone say we are inspiring.

We are calling this blog “ujustfinish,” and our tag line says, “you don’t need to finish strong. You just need to finish.” That’s our philosophy, “just finish!”  You don’t have to finish strong, just finish!  That means you must start of course, but it doesn’t mean you have to be a hard charger.  Take your time and just finish.

We wanted to write this blog to sort of chronicle our travels and our running along the way.  If for nothing else, maybe it will become interesting reading someday for the historians in our family.  I wish I had something like this from my Mom and Dad.  But, I digress.  If it also inspires someone to set a course and finish, perhaps running a race, or setting a mileage goal, or a “start eating healthy” goal, well then, that would indeed be a very nice reward for Donetta and me.

We just returned from an awesome run this past weekend in Georgetown.  I will write something about that and post some pictures.

Leave a Reply

